Google Website Translator Gadget

Tuesday, June 11, 2013

Race for Education's 2013 Scholarship Recipients Announced

The Race For Education’s board approved $446,000 in scholarship awards to 60 students at the May board meeting. The awards are for tuition only and include a number of sponsored scholarships as well as scholarships for education majors who are teachers in the Starting Gate program.

Andre Stock is the recipient of the first annual John R. Velazquez Scholarship, sponsored by Team Valor International and the stable owners, Barry and Kathleen Irwin. Andre is attending the University of Louisville. Another Team Valor sponsored scholarship, The Isaac Murphy Scholarship, was awarded to Johan Brown. Johan is attending the North American Racing Academy through Bluegrass Community & Technical College majoring in Equine Studies.

The inaugural Starlight Racing Scholarship, funded by Starlight Racing partners Donald and Barbara Lucarelli and Jack and Laurie Wolf, is also for a student pursuing a career in the Thoroughbred industry. The recipient of this scholarship is Wilhelmina deBoer. Wilhelmina was selected from the 18 Thoroughbred Scholarship applicants. She is attending Michigan State University majoring in Animal Science.

This year’s Frankel Scholarship was awarded to Mary Ellet of California. Mary’s mother, Cindy, has been employed as an outrider at Southern California racetracks for 25 years. Mary is attending Chapman University and majoring in Communications with a minor in French.

Jessica Ortiz is the 2013 recipient of the Karri Casner Scholarship, sponsored by Bill and Susan Casner in memory of their daughter. Jessica is attending West Texas A&M University and is majoring in Veterinary Science.

Administered in partnership with the National HBPA, nine additional applicants were awarded the HPBA Horsemen’s Scholarship this year. The recipients are as follows; Corey Biddle, University of Louisville; Lindsay Caster, University of Central Oklahoma; Bethany DeStefano, University of Richmond; James Ellet, Lamar Community College; Allison Krause, Ohio State University; Danielle Morgan, New Mexico State University; Maria Rojas, Northern Kentucky University; Olivia VanSteenbergh, University of Kentucky and Jessica White, Kent State University.

Ten education majors from the University of Kentucky, Eriauna Stratton, Shanika Payne, Kiara Rollerson, Macy Tone, Shane Beck, Kelli Hemsath, Carolyn Holtzhauer, Lauren Estes, Chelsea Kauffeld, Regina Devine and Allie White from Georgetown College received scholarships for their service to the Starting Gate Literacy Program.

Thirty-four veterinary students received scholarships through a partnership with the AAEP and over the summer a scholarship will be awarded to one student from each 4-H chapter across the state of Kentucky.

All of the organization’s scholarship recipients are required to take a financial literacy course, to help them better understand basic finance. In addition all students are invited to participate in The Race For Educations Assets for Independence Program and if eligible may receive an additional $4,000 in scholarship funds from a federal matching grant from the US Department of Health and Human Services Administration for Children and Families.

“I am so proud of all of these wonderful students and grateful that we are able to make a significant impact the in the future of these young people” says Elisabeth Jensen, President and Executive Director of The Race For Education.

Through academic development programs, tutoring, internships, financial literacy training and scholarships, the Race For Education provides opportunities for educational success for young people with significant financial need and academic challenges.

For more information, visit

No comments:

Post a Comment