Google Website Translator Gadget

Friday, September 2, 2016

Inaugural Thoroughbred Industry Employee Award Finalists Announced

Following a huge response from the industry, with over 110 nominations received, the finalists for the inaugural Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards presented by Godolphin have today been announced.

The Awards recognize and reward the outstanding skills, commitment and contribution of the Thoroughbred industry employees who are at the heart of our sport. The Shortlist Judging Panel had the difficult task of selecting just three finalists for each category.

The second and final stage of judging will take place during the week of October 3rd with a separate judging panel deciding the winners in each of the categories. The winner of the Thoroughbred Industry Community Award has already been decided as only one prize is awarded in that category.

The TIEA ceremony will be held on opening day of Keeneland’s fall meet, October 7th. A total of 13 individuals will be recognized in five different categories: Leadership Award Farm, Leadership Award Racing, Dedication to Breeding Award, Dedication to Racing Award and a Thoroughbred Industry Community Award.

Reid McLellan, Chairman of the Judging Panels, said, “We couldn’t have been more pleased with the response by the industry in this the first year of the Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards here in the United States. It wasn’t the easiest process to determine the finalists as each category was very well represented. But with Godolphin’s and Sheikh Mohammed’s generosity, we are now able to recognize and reward these individuals who truly make up the backbone of the Thoroughbred industry.

“On behalf of my fellow judges, I want to congratulate the finalists and look forward to meeting all of them in person during the final judging process in October. Having gone through this judging process, I am impressed by the individuals that we have taking care of our equine athletes. It’s an honor to be involved with such a wonderful program like this and I look forward to this year’s event and many more to come in the future.”

In addition to a commemorative trophy for the winners, three individual awards in each category will be distributed. The winner in each category will receive $10,000, while the other two finalists will receive $2,500 each. On top of this, farm and racing employees associated with each award recipient will receive monetary recognition. The winner of the Industry Community Award will receive $10,000 and an additional $5,000 will be given to the charity of their choice. Total prize money for the five awards will be $115,000.

The finalists are:

Leadership Award – Farm Farm
Victor Espinoza with  Brookdale Farm
John Hall with Taylor Made
Matt Koch with Shawhan Place LLC

Leadership Award – Racing Stable
Jimmy Barnes with Bob Baffert Stables
Melissa Cohen with Richard Violette Stables
Laz Guerra with Mike Maker Stables

Dedication to Breeding Award Farm
Everett Charles with Stone Farm
Leon Hamilton with Ashview Farm
James Sebastian with Claiborne Farm

Dedication to Racing Award Stable
Jose "Vinny" Castenada with Marty Jones Racing Stable
Danny Ramsey with Kenny McPeek Racing
Raul Rodriguez with Art Sherman Racing

Thoroughbred Industry
Community Award winner Entity
Israel "Izzy" Vega with Racetrack Chaplaincy of California

No comments:

Post a Comment