Google Website Translator Gadget

Saturday, September 7, 2013

Reddam Racing, Ocala Stud, Morton Fink Top Winners at TOBA National Awards Dinner

The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association’s (TOBA’s) 28th Annual National Awards Dinner was held Sept. 6 at Fasig-Tipton in Lexington, Ky. Reddam Racing LLC was honored as TOBA’s National Owner of the Year, Ocala Stud was named the National Breeder of the Year and Morton Fink was honored as the National Small Breeder of the Year.

The TOBA Awards Dinner, hosted by Donna Barton Brothers, a former jockey, author and racing analyst for NBC and TVG, also honored the achievements of Thoroughbred owners in the four major North American racing regions and breeders in 21 states and Canada. In addition, the Rood & Riddle Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year award was presented to the owner of the ex-Thoroughbred racehorse that has accumulated the most points in competition, as tracked by the United States Equestrian Federation. Ira Schulman’s and Alex Jayne’s Thomas Edison received the award. Gary Biszantz, the owner of Cobra Farm and a horseman, sportsman, leader and philanthropist, was honored with TOBA’s Industry Service Award.

A complete list of winners is as follows:

Eastern Region Owner of the Year: Godolphin
Midwestern Region Owner of the Year: John and Debby Oxley
Southern Region Owner of the Year: Brereton Jones
Western Region Owner of the Year: Reddam Racing LLC

State Breeders of the Year:
Triple AAA Ranch: Arizona
Terry C. Lovingier: California
Ocala Stud: Florida
Team Block: Illinois
Michael E. and Penny S. Lauer: Indiana
Allen Poindexter: Iowa
Morton Fink: Kentucky
Coteau Grove Farms: Louisiana
Dr. and Mrs. Thomas Bowman: Maryland
Patricia Moseley: Massachusetts
Campbell Stable: Michigan
Richard Bremer and Cheryl Sprick: Minnesota
Gunsmith Stables: New Jersey
Triple AAA Ranch: New Mexico
Barry K. Schwartz: New York
Nancy C. Shuford: North Carolina
Leon and Karen Glasser: North Dakota
Jack and Margaret Root: Oregon
Franklin G. Smith: South Carolina
Audley Farm Equine: Virginia
Karl Krieg: Washington

Canadian Breeder of the Year: William D. Graham

National Broodmare of the Year: Lisa Danielle owned by Morton Fink

National Awards Dinner sponsors included OCD Pellets, Xpressbet, Kendall-Jackson Wine Estates, Flair Nasal Strips, Woodford Reserve, John Deere, Stoll Keenon Ogden PLLC, Fasig-Tipton, Daily Racing Form and Blood-Horse Publications.

No comments:

Post a Comment